Credit unions promote the financial well-being of members, including those of modest means, through a system that is cooperative, member-owned, volunteer-directed and not-for-profit. These seven key principles define why credit unions are different than any other type of financial institution.

  • Voluntary Membership

  • Democratic Member Control

  • Members’ Economic Participation

  • Autonomy and Independence

  • Education, Training & Information

  • Cooperation among Cooperatives

  • Concern for Community